Birth (First of three)

After many attempts and eventually giving up for a while, I found out I was pregnant with our first child on August long weekend 2008.

Fast-forward to April 2009. I was coming up to my due date and had been trying every natural labor induction method I could find.  April 12th at 2:30am I woke up to an odd feeling.  I couldn’t quite place it, but decided to make a dash to the toilet where my water broke.

I called my husband who was still out playing poker that evening to come home because it was really happening!

He was home in record time!

We headed to the hospital expecting to be parents that day, but unfortunately the baby had other plans.  My labor did not progress at all that day. I even headed out to my parents house for Easter dinner.  When we got home I walked, bounced, timed and WILLED the baby to come… nothing.

Finally around 4am contractions started to get uncomfortable, so we headed back to the hospital.  When my Doctor came in to check me at 8am I was still about 3cm, so he decided to give me an epidural and augment me.  This was not part of my plan, but being that it had been so long, I consented.

The next few hours were pretty boring. My family arrived and came in to visit, my husband played on his phone, and I didn’t really feel like I was in labor anymore.  I was still able to walk, although my legs didn’t really work well, so I decided to stay in bed.

Around 11:30 I started to feel some really intense pains. By 12:00 my Doctor came back to check me.  3cm STILL!!  My Doctor looked at me and said “Looks like we’ll be having this baby by knife!”.  At this point I started crying from the pain.  My Doctor looked at me funny and I said quietly “I’m not crying because of the c-section, I’m crying because I’m in pain”.  He called in the OB to give me a quick consult before we headed down for my c-section.  Then he turned up my epidural to help with my pains and left the room.

When the OB arrived 30min later, he decided to check me as well, and I was now “10cm and ready to push” he said.  They called my doctor back to the room, and set me up for pushing.

When they told me they were going to turn off my epidural, I panicked.  I did not want to go back to that pain.  Then they said I could push whenever I was ready.  With no patience left, and the fear of pain approaching, I decided to feel my stomach for contractions and push with them.  I pushed for two hours before my son started having heart decelerations.  At that point I was told we needed to get the baby out faster, and we were going to try a vacuum assisted delivery.  After all 3 suction attempts it was all up to me. I had to push like a meant it or resign myself to a c-section. I chose to push.

At 3:13pm my precious 9lb 12oz som was born. He left behind him a trail of 3rd degree tears that took weeks to heal, but I loved him more than anything.

 

3123_77111287061_5815946_n

 

 

Leave a Reply

